Officers and Representatives

WVAS Executive Committee

PRESIDENT: Sara J. Sawyer

Professor of Biology
200 High Street
Glenville State College
Glenville, WV 26351
(304) 462-6301
Sara.Sawyer@glenville.edu

PRESIDENT ELECT: Deanna M. Schmitt

Associate Professor of Biology
208 University Drive
College Union Box 139
West Liberty, WV 26074
(304) 336-8576
deanna.schmitt@westliberty.edu

PAST PRESIDENT: James W. Walters

Assistant Professor of Biology
Basic Science Building B303
219 Rock Street
Bluefield State College
Bluefield, WV 24701
(304) 327-4152
Jwalters@bluefieldstate.edu

TREASURER: Chuck Puckett

Assistant Professor of Biology
Southern WV Community and Technical College
Logan, WV 25601
(304) 896-7358
charles.puckett@southernwv.edu

RECORDING SECRETARY: David O'Dell

Professor of Chemistry
Glenville State College
200 High Street
Glenville, WV 26351
(304) 462-6317
David.Odell@glenville.edu

WVAS JUNIOR ACADEMY: (Position Vacant)

PWVAS EDITOR: Joseph Horzempa

Associate Professor of Biology
West Liberty University
West Liberty, WV 26074-0295
(304) 336-8284
joseph.horzempa@westliberty.edu

ASSOCIATE EDITOR:

Yogendra Panta
Mechanical Engineering Dept.
WVU Institute of Technology
512 S. Kanawha St.
Beckley, WV 25801
(304) 929-1661
Yogendra.Panta@mail.wvu.edu

ASSOCIATE EDITOR: (Position Vacant)

WEBMASTER: E. Joseph Nolan IV

Instructor of Biology
West Liberty University
West Liberty, WV 26074-0295
(304) 336-8249
enolan@westliberty.edu

Institutional Representatives

Role of the representatives:

  • Recruit faculty and student memberships
  • Increase WVAS awareness
  • Seek institutional memberships from thir respective schools
  • Disseminate information about meetings, publication, etc.

Alderson-Broaddus College

Matthew McKinney
Natural Science
College Hill Rd.
Phillippi, WV 26416
(304) 457-6246
mckinneymi@ab.edu

Bluefield State College

James Walters
Basic Science Building B303
219 Rock Street
Bluefield State College
Bluefield, WV 24701
(304) 327-4152
Jwalters@bluefieldstate.edu

Bethany College

John Hull
Psychology Department
Bethany, WV 26032
(304) 829-7426
jhull@bethanywv.edu

Concord University

Darla Wise
Department of Biology
Concord College
Athens, WV 24712
(304) 384-5283
Wised@concord.edu

Davis & Elkins College

Shawn K. Stover
Department of Biology & Environmental Science
Davis & Elkins College
100 Campus Drive
Elkins, WV 26241
stovers@davisandelkins.edu

Fairmont State University

Mark Flood
Department of Biology
Room 414 Hunt Haught Hall
Fairmont, WV 26554
(304) 367-4309
mflood@fairmontstate.edu

Glenville State College

Kevin Evans
Department of Science and Mathematics
Glenville State
Glenville, WV 26351
(304) 462-6304
Kevin.Evans@glenville.edu

Mammoth Geophysical Inc.

Ray Garton
PO Box 200
Barrackville, WV 26559
garton@prehistoricplanet.com
(304) 366-1810

Marshall University

Marcia Harrison
Dept. of Biological Sciences
Marshall Univ.
Huntington, WV 25755
(304) 696-4867
harrison@marshall.edu

Potomac State College of WVU

Deepak Mehra
Potomac State College of WVU
101 Fort Ave
Keyser WV 26726
(304)788-6975
Deepak.Mehra@mail.wvu.edu

Shepherd University

Jason Best
Institute for Environmental Science
Shepherd University
Shepherdstown, WV 25443
(304) 876-5331(W)
jbest@shepherd.edu

Southern WV Community and Technical College

Chuck Puckett
(304) 792 -7098 ext 252
charles.puckett@southernwv.edu

University of Charleston

Aida E. Jiménez Esquilín
Department of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
University of Charleston
Charleston, WV 25304
(304) 347-0026
aidajimenez@ucwv.edu

USDOE/NETC

Grant Bromhal
PO Box 4373
Morgantown, WV 26504
Grant.Bromhal@NETL.DOE.GOV
(304) 285-4688

West Liberty University

Roger Seeber
Biology Division
CSC #139
West Liberty State College
West Liberty, WV 26074
(304) 336-8317
seeberrg@westliberty.edu

 

WV Northern Community College

Sherri L. Buerdsell
Instructor of Biology
West Virginia Northern Community College
1141 Main St.
New Martinsville, WV 26155
(304) 510-8793
sbuerdsell@wvncc.edu

WV State University (Institute)

Haiemichael Seyoum
Dept. Physics
313 Hamblin Hall
WV State College
Institute, WV 25112-1000
(304) 766-3103
seyoum@wvsc.edu

West Virginia University

Donald Gray
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
West Virginia University
P. O. Box 6103
395 Evansdale Drive
Morgantown, WV 26506-6103
(304) 293-9933
gray@cemr.wvu.edu

West Virginia University

Jim Rentch
Division of Forestry
West Virginia University
Morgantown, WV 26506-6125
329C Percival Hall
(304) 293-2941 ext 36466
jrentch2@wvu.edu

West Virginia University

Donna Ford-Werntz
Herbarium Curator
Associate Clinical Professor
Biology Dept.
Box 6057 Life Sci. Bldg.
West Virginia University
Morgantown, WV 26506
donna.ford-werntz@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-5201 ext 31549

West Virginia University

Linda Vona Davis
Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center Department of Surgery
West Virginia University
PO Box 9238 Morgantown, WV 26506
(304)-293-1280
lvdavis@hsc.wvu.edu
website

WVU at Parkersburg

Holly Martin, Assistant Professor of Biology
Science & Technology Division, Room 3302
Parkersburg, WV 26104
(304) 424-8000 ext 438
Holly.Martin@wvup.edu

WVU Institute of Technology

Yogendra Panta
Mechanical Engineering Dept.
WVU Institute of Technology
512 S. Kanawha St.
Beckley, WV 25801
(304) 929-1661
Yogendra.Panta@mail.wvu.edu

WV Wesleyan College

Bruce Anthony
Biology Dept.
West Virginia Wesleyan College
59 College Avenue
Buckhannon, WV 2620
(304) 473-8842
anthony_c@wvwc.edu

WV Division of Natural Resources

Nicole M. Sadecky
Wildlife Diversity Fish Biologist
Wildlife Resources Section
738 Ward Rd., Elkins, WV 26241
(304) 637-0245 ext. 2028
Nicole.M.Sadecky@wv.gov